New Lens – Lensbaby Spark for Canon

I recently came across one of the best photography blogs called Click It Up a Notch. What I love about the blog is that the author and contributors are all photographers who share their knowledge and experiences with techniques, equipment, etc. It’s a community that supports their profession and passion. It’s pretty inspiring. It’s also where I got the idea to start this project!

I was reading one of the posts recently (I can’t find it) where one of the contributors talked about the Lensbaby Spark lens. The fun thing about this lens is that you have to manually focus it and gives your photos a more creative feel.

After seeing a few pictures taken with this lens and seeing how inexpensive it was, I ordered it. (I also used Amazon points so really it was free!) I couldn’t wait to try it out last night when it came in the mail.

lensbaby

(I love the warm tones in this picture of the lens. It was taken on the console table behind my couch with 2 lamps on. I didn’t even edit it because I think it looks awesome as is. My camera was set to ISO 1600, 1/60 sec and f/3.5 on the Canon 50mm.)

It took me a minute to figure out what settings would work best because there is no aperture to set with it. Once I got the ISO and shutter how I wanted (ISO 1600, 1/60 sec), I took a few pictures of the flowers in our background.

lensbaby flower 1

Since I was manually focusing, I didn’t quite get the daisy in focus like I wanted. However after playing with it a few times, I finally got it in focus.

lensbaby flower 2

You also can’t really zoom with it so you have to physically move yourself closer or farther away from the subject you want to photograph.

This is such a fun lens to play with and I love the funky blur it gives the photos. I think this lens would be fun to take out to do some street photography with people walking or cars driving by. Looks like I may need to start a bucket list of things I want to photograph! πŸ˜‰

One thought on “New Lens – Lensbaby Spark for Canon

Leave a Reply

